This is Smart

Davids S. Cloud of The Los Angeles Times reports this morning that, “The Obama administration plans to double the size of a rural police force in Afghanistan and arm it with heavier weapons to fight insurgents as U.S. troops withdraw, despite Pentagon and Afghan government concern about the village self-defense units becoming predatory criminal gangs or defecting to the Taliban.”

The Obama administration clearly has given up and is throwing whatever crazy idea it can at a problem the U.S. created and the president himself exacerbated.

About Robert Brand

Like people before me, I went to Afghanistan and never really left. After spending more than 20 years at newspapers, I became sickened by them -- and remain so. I decided to start this blog not because I think I have anything important to say, but because I just can't get Afghanistan and its people out of my daily thoughts. Also, I'm just mad as hell and have a lot of time on my hands. A former hospital corpsman with four years of honorable service, I wonder why those who haven't served, including most media people at newspapers and broadcast empires, enjoy war so much.

Posted on August 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

